Design NSW Travelling Scholarship
Design NSW Travelling Scholarship

The Design NSW: Travelling Scholarship of $18,000 is offered each year by the NSW Government, with the support of the Powerhouse Museum and the British Council. The purpose of the scholarship is to enable a NSW designer at the beginning of their career to undertake a program of professional development overseas. Activities eligible under the program include short-term study, courses, workshops, professional research, residencies, mentorships and internships. If the scholarship recipient chooses to travel to the UK, the British Council can assist the recipient with their program of professional development by providing support and advice, and facilitating introductions to up to eight leading UK practitioners relevant to the winner’s field.

Thank you to the 2011 NSW Travelling Scholarship Award Finalists:

Emma Elizabeth Coffey
Kelly Elkin
David Foster
Trent Janson
Laura McEwan
Danae Natsis
Nicola St John
Anna Westcott
Anna Zhu

Congratulations to the winner of the NSW Travelling Scholarship,Typographer David Foster. Hear him talk about his plans for the award below.

Information on previous winner Liesl Hazelton’s project┬ácan be found here.

The Design NSW: Travelling Scholarship is supported by the NSW Government through Arts NSW

Visual Arts & Craft Strategy British Council

Sydney Design events will be filmed by Powerhouse Museum staff and the content will be used by the Museum for promotion and this includes uploading into Powerhouse Museum accounts across a variety of third party platforms. If you do not wish to be filmed please inform the photographer/videographer at the time of the event.